IAND scholarship packets will be released to all IAND Presidents and directors of Hoosier dietetics programs in late November. The postmark deadline for all IAND scholarships is March 18, 2018.  For more information, please contact: Lorna O’Connell MS, RDN, LD, CD (IAND Executive Director) at:

Donate to a Scholarship

District Scholarships

NEIAND Scholarship

The Northeast Indiana Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (NEIAND) is pleased to offer a $500 scholarship, for the 2018-2019 academic year, to a deserving undergraduate or graduate student majoring in dietetics or nutrition, or to a dietetic intern.  The applicant is to be a resident of, or from Northeast Indiana as defined by the geographic region and boundaries for the local association. The counties included in the NEIAND area are Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley.  Applications are due no later than 5 PM February 15, 2018. The scholarship recipient will be recognized at the NEIAND March Meeting in Fort Wayne, Indiana

NEIAND Scholarship information and application 2018


Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Scholarships

Look here for more information on ANDF (Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation) Scholarships.
The application deadline for ANDF scholarships is April 17.

Indiana Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Scholarships

**IAND Scholarships Eligibility Requirements – All scholarships and awards require the applicant to be an Indiana resident and a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics/Indiana Academy.

IAND scholarship application guidelines are described below with application forms and instructions links at the bottom of the page. The postmark deadline for all scholarships is March 18. For more information, please contact: Lorna O’Connell, MS RDN CD, IAND Executive Director at:

IAND Scholarships ($500 – 1 available)

  • Senior didactic dietetic student or Master’s level student from Ball State, Indiana University, University of Southern Indiana or Purdue Universities, applying for an internship or pre-professional practice program during the 2017-18 academic year.
  • Junior dietetic student from Purdue University or University of Saint Francis accepted into the coordinated program in dietetics for the 2017-18 academic year.
  • Sophomore dietetic student from Indiana State University can apply prior to acceptance; however, money will not be awarded until the student is accepted into Indiana State’s coordinated program in dietetics.

Lute Troutt Fellowship  (Funding contingent – 1 available)

Mary Hebenstreit Memorial Award ($600 per family donation – 1 available)

  • An individual intending to or currently pursuing an advanced degree at an Indiana college or university program during the 2017-18 academic year. (Application can be made prior to enrollment, however, money will not be awarded until the application is accepted into a graduate program.)
  • RD, DTR or dietetic student completing their dietetic internship or pre-professional practice program.

Joanne Frances Lintzenich Memorial Award ($500 – not available in 2017-18)

  • A member of the Behavioral Health and Nutrition AND Dietetic Practice Group (formerly Dietitians in Developmental & Psychiatric Disorders ADA practice group) and member of AND,
  • Employed in the Behavioral Health field in the state of Indiana.
  • Award is for any educational endeavor (continuing education programs or graduate studies).

To apply use these application guidelines with one of the following forms for ANY of the above listed scholarships:

IAND-Scholarship-Packet 2018


Three of the scholarships were named after Indiana dietitians who distinguished themselves at the state and national level:


Martha Lute Troutt was the first Indiana student to enter a training course for student dietitians. From there, her career took off and she held many offices in both the Indiana Dietetic Association and American Dietetic Association. Miss Troutt was a Charter member of the Indiana Dietetic Association and the Indiana State Nutrition Council. During her Dietetics Department Directorship for the Indiana University Hospitals that spanned 41 years, one of the first approved dietetic internships in the United States was established and a graduate program for dietetic interns was started. Lute was also responsible for getting a state nutritionist added to the staff of the Indiana State Board of Health. In 1925, Lute Troutt became President of the Indiana Dietetic Association. She was the first recipient of the Outstanding Dietitian Award for Indiana which was given by the Indiana Power and Light Company in 1969. During Lute’s year as the 13th President of the American Dietetic Association (1936-37), the House of Delegates was formed. Miss Troutt received the ADA’s highest award, the Marjorie Hulsizer Copher Award, in 1963 and gave the $1000 honorarium from the award to start the IDA Fellowship Award established in her name. Lute Troutt also served as a director of the Indiana Restaurant Association for 10 years and received the Distinguished Alumni Service Award from Indiana University.


Joanne Frances Lintzenich graduated from Marian College in Indianapolis destined to be a force in the Indiana dietetic profession. Joanne started work as Director of Food Services for LaRue C. Carter Memorial Hospital. For a total of 27 years, she then worked for the Indiana Department of Mental Health as Director of Dietetic Services and Director of Quality Assurance. She was recognized as being the top of her profession with an International Foodservice Manufacturer’s Association Silver Plate Award. In the Indiana Dietetic Association, Joanne served as President (1973-74), President-Elect, Treasurer, Delegate to the House of Delegates, Education Chairman, and Historian. She was a founder and Chair of the DDPD (Dietitians in Developmental and Psychiatric Disorders) National Practice Group. In 1981, Miss Lintzenich received the Indiana Dietetic Association Honored Dietitian Award. For the American Dietetic Association, Joanne was an Appeals Panel Member.

MARY HEBENSTREIT, RD (8/28/30 – 3/2/83)

Mary Hebenstreit graduated from the College of Saint Theresa and did her dietetic internship at Good Samaritan Hospital, Cincinnati, Ohio. As a consultant dietitian from Carmel, Mary’s clients were Group Homes for the Developmentally Disabled. She also taught Food Service classes at J. Everett Light Career Center for Food Service Managers and was a Meals on Wheels volunteer. After her death at the hands of a drunk driver, Mary’s husband, Thomas, has donated money for the scholarship in her name every year. In 2000, Mary’s four children, Ann, Michael, David, and Daniel, made a commitment to fund half of the scholarship each year. This was arranged through Sheila Hebenstreit, RD, Mary’s daughter-in-law.